Funfem is a waste of time.

Posted: March 21, 2012 in English, Feminism, Rants
Tags: , , , ,

http://rose-lemberg.livejournal.com/236997.html?view=1848005#t1848005

This is exactly why I don’t identify with mainstream feminism anymore. “Men-with-boobs”, “Honorary-males”? I guess to them any woman who happens to have a body or a hobby outside the norm/”feminity” is just trying to be like those men! You Bitch!

Oh, and the OP [comment OP]? Doesn’t even identifies as a “woman” or, like he said, as a “Female”. I smell a neckbeard.

Also, those people seem to have even less comprehension skills than me, and I’m not even a native speaker. Figures.

Comments
  1. Word. I’m also fucking sick and tired of the “feminity” pundits and their narrow (and misogynistic as fuck to boot) ideas of what a woman* should be. Why is it suddenly so important that fictional women be ‘feminine’? As opposed to being interesting, three-dimensional or unique? I don’t know either.
    It’s funny; it was because of that particular LJ post that I decided to ignore all advice on writing “feminist novels” or “feminist heroines” and just write whatever the fuck I wanted to write.
    I think the idea that every badass woman ever has to have cliched ‘feminine’ traits / interests because “balance” is fucking stupid.
    I should do a proper post on this sometime.

    * It’s not just fictional ones, in several discussions the commenters have reviled real ones. How dare we act in a way they personally don’t like.

    • meishuu says:

      I think the idea that every badass woman ever has to have cliched ‘feminine’ traits / interests because “balance” is fucking stupid.

      Yes, this a thousand time! It pisses me off when I see “feminist” criticizing characters (and even real women) if they don’t show some “femininity”. They don’t seem to realize they are doing exactly the same men: oppressing women who don’t conform.

      That post was the the straw that broke the camel’s back for me, I even got banned for the livejournal, apparently I’m too “aggressive”, haha.

  2. You’re “aggressive”? I like you already. 😀

Leave a Reply

